HVLP Sprayer Recommendations

Status
Not open for further replies.

cpowell

New User
Chuck
Dad's Day = new HVLP sprayer? At least that's my plan!! :lol:

Travis, you've given good reviews on the PC PSH1. Have you sprayed shellac and lacquer or just TC USL lacquer? Would I need another tip besides the standard tip? Also, the cup is plastic...any problems there? Did you buy local or web?

Any other recommendations from the group would be greatly appreciated. Price does matter but I'd like to know I'm buying something I can use for the next ten years.

Chuck

dave_the_woodworker

New User
Update your profile with your name
Chuck,

For what it's worth, I've been using Apollo HVLP equipment for about 30 years and am really happy with it. I use several of their turbines and both their gravity feed and pressure-feed cup guns. The thing I like about them is that they are totally stainless steel so they don't have any chemical interaction problems with any finishes. Aluminum, for instance, can react with water based finishes in a bad way. I've sprayed a a wide range of water based finishes (Hydrocote and Target more recently), shellac, stains (both alcohol and water based), mineral spirit based varnishes and solvent based lacquers. They may be more expensive with the equipment you refer to since I'm not familiar with it but I think they are worth the price.

Good luck with spraying. Once you get used to it I'm sure you will put down the vast majority of your finishes with it. It works great!

Dave

Steve D

Steve DeWeese
Chuck,

Travis has been pleased with his gun and the Wagner conversion gun has received good marks as well. I have a Walcom STM and an Asturo BR. I am very pleased with both of those guns and both were purchased from Jeff Jewitt at www.homesteadfinishing.com. You need to make sure that your compressor has enough CFM to run whatever conversion gun you buy as they use a decent amount of air.

cpowell

New User
Chuck
Steve D said:
Chuck,