Tung oil finnishes

Status
Not open for further replies.

lhmayberry

Les Mayberry
Corporate Member

I've never tried to use Tongue oil before, after reading the directions ,I am left wondering if I still need to top coat this or just apply the oil until I am satisfied with the finnish? the most I have ever done is polyurethane coating and wanted to try something different. This is for a plaque I put together for my step-son and wanted to get a good detail of the woods I used. I put some pics of it up but I'm not good at moving them around. Any thoughts or suggestions are welcome.​

Thanks, Les​

DaveO

New User
DaveO
Re: Tongue oil finnishes

Most of your commercial Tung Oil finishes are nothing more than a Oil, MS and Poly mix. Many don't even contain Tung Oil. Unless it states that it is pure Tung Oil, it's more likely a mix like mentioned above. You don't need to top coat this finish, but might want to to get better build or more gloss.
Dave:)

Marlin

New User
Marlin

^
Yep!

Unless it says it has Tung oil in it then it is probable just some poly and MS/Thinner.
I just make my own. I use about 60% poly and 40% thinner.

lhmayberry

Les Mayberry
Corporate Member

Thanks Dave,I can see what you mean about the contents . Its mostly petroleum products.
I also see I can't spell tong either.

sapwood

New User
Roger
Nice project Les! I've included your pix (hope it's the right one :roll:) so folks will see what you are up to :)

According to your description the frame is made of walnut.

Img_0270.jpg

HTH,
Roger

Ray Martin

New User
Ray
Les,

I think an oil finish on the wood you used is going to look beautiful. I made a mantle clock out of walnut and cherry last year and used a danish oil. Waited about two weeks for the oil to dry and then applied wax. I think it came out ok. There is a photo in the gallery of the clock, but it doesn't really show the finish very well.

Ray

poppop

New User
Don