Fixing poor drywall finishing

TheyCallMeTex

New User
Ben
Hi y'all, im repainting our dining room (ceiling, trim, and walls) and I'm not a pro so I use tape.

When I was pulling the tape off the ceiling, it looks like I tore off an old patch job? Or maybe I just screwed something up (likely!).

(Also, yes, there is A LOT of touch up work to do, as I said I'm no pro :) )

I just need help knowing how to fix it.

I think I should scrape off the old surface then spray some new surfacing on it (I have a can). I've seen people sanding with a damp sponge as well, I guess this can smoothe the transition?

Also, is there something I can do *before I tape* (other than "learn to cut in bro") that will prevent this?

Any other advice? I really appreciate it, I've always wanted to learn how to do this stuff.

Thanks in advance y'all!
PXL_20221030_142609949.jpg

Oka

Casey
Corporate Member
The easy quick way is just to cut free the the affected areas by using a utility knife then use a grip (bonding) type primer, then mud over with joint compound. Then, sand, damp sponge to blend out. If the finish is heavy looking paint (looks to be the case, the experiment with adding some compound to the paint to thicken (try a small cup test) If the area is really damaged alot, then the same but flat tape. However, if you flat tape you may need to pull the crown moulding in order to assure the mould edge line stays straight and true.
You could do it without priming it, but often with older already painted finishes surrounding, it likely with flash, meaning even though you did everything right the light catches it and you still see the repair.
The eye is the final judge. Hope that helps

Gotcha6

Dennis
Staff member
Corporate Member