Couch Tray Structure Question

StGerrit

New User
Gerrit
Hi Fine folks!
I am a beginner woodworker that have mainly done small projects but I am looking to make my first bigger piece, a Couch Tray for my wife for when she eats on the couch.
My biggest question is will this structurally work?
Material - Feet, legs & support beams will be made with walnut, the surface will be made of Ambrosia Maple.
Joint - Dowel joints with glue (Mortise & Tenon joints are out of the question since the hammering of the chisel creates too much noise and I live in an apartment)
Dimensions - 20"w x 16"l x 26"h.
  • Surface - 20" x 16" x 1"
  • Legs - 26" x 2" x 1"
  • Feet - 16" x 1" x 1"
In the picture everything is square but I will be using a spokeshave to round everything to ensure she doesn't get hurt if she bumps into it or stubs her toe.
My apologies if anything is unclear, English is not my native language and I am trying to learn all the correct phrases.

Thank you for taking the time to read through!

Regards,
Gerrit.

Table_1.jpg
Table_2.jpg
Table_3.jpg

Wilsoncb

Williemakeit
Corporate Member
Without getting into a lot of detail. 1x1 for legs is questionable. 1” thick on top is structurally overkill but OK if thats what you want aesthetically. I would think about shaping the legs to make them thicker at the top and bottom to get a gusset type situation. Finally, I would turn the cross brace 90 degrees so you have more strength vertically.

creasman

Jim
Staff member
Corporate Member
Consider laminating the legs by first building a form and then gluing them from thinner strips. That will give you the strength without adding thickness to the design. You'll end up with something like this (minus the upturn at the top, for your project).

1705061703534.png

StGerrit

New User
Gerrit