Band Saw

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eagle520

New User
Randy
Hi,
I'm new to NCCW and need some help on purchasing a band saw. I have a gift card for Home Depot that will cover the price of a Rigid 14" band saw. i've looked at other models and some of them can be pricey. Has anyone used this saw or know anything about it ??

Thanks

M

McRabbet

Randy,

I can't help you with the Ridgid bandsaw (I have a Grizzly G0555 14" with a riser block and like it), but I'm sure others here will give you sound advice.

By the way (or BTW in NCWW-speak), you need to introduce yourself to the rest of the members here with a Post in the Who We Are Forum, as fewer will see this thread. I'll greet you over there when you do! (Happy you are here!)

Sully

New User
jay
Welcome to NCWW Randy.

I have that band saw. :eusa_danc

Mine is somewhat tricked out (riser block, carter guides/tires, Kreg fence, mobile base) compared to the stock version. However, even right off the shelf I was very pleased with the saw. It's done everything I've ever asked of it: ripping, resawing, curve sawing, etc. The upgrades were to satisfy my tool buying disease, rather than a necessity. :drunken_s I am very happy with mine.

One important tip about this saw: the 6" riser block from Grizzly (model number GO555) fits the Ridgid saw perfectly without any modifications necessary. That's the route I took, especially considering that the Ridgid version was back ordered and about 2 1/2 times as expensive. Of course, you only need the riser block if you plan to do any major resawing. :icon_thum

Hope that helps. Oh, and please do introduce yourself over in the announcements section....
J

DaveO

New User
DaveO