Greetings from Cary

Daniel A

New User
Daniel
Hi everyone,

My name is Daniel, I'm 35 years old and live in Cary. I'm relatively new to NCWW and to serious woodworking in general, but I've been a maker of one sort or another all my life. I grew up just south of here in Sanford, NC, on a little farm my dad had out in the country out towards Cameron. I learned a lot from him growing up, as he owned a roofing business and if we didn't fix the trucks and tractors, bend the flashing, build the replacement repairs, etc. then it wouldn't get done. I joined the Army at 21 as a paratrooper, went to Ft. Bragg after Airborne School, then Iraq for a year, then four years later when my contract was expiring, I declined to re-enlist for another four years (I figured I'd better get a college education before I got any older) and received an honorable discharge. Four years later, I graduated from NC State with a bachelors in Mechanical Engineering. That was in 2017, and I've been working in RTP since then.

I am primarily a hand tool woodworker, however that's not some self-imposed restriction; I live in a condo in Cary for now, so until I can buy a house with a garage or shop, I have to rely on tools that won't get me kicked out for noise complaints, haha. I do have a few electric tools, such as a router with table and plunge attachment, a drill press, and a 10" table saw I keep in the outdoor utility closet, and only use it outside on my back patio.