Letting wood blanks freeze outside

Status
Not open for further replies.

mountaintop

New User
Keith
My shop is separate from the house is 20x20. I added 12' overhand on one side to store wood and to do sanding outside. This is where my bowl blanks are now. They are sealed and covered from the sun and weather. At this time there hasn't been a problem but wonder when it starts to freeze will this presents a problem turning blanks when I bring them inside? My shop does freeze inside a few weeks of the year so I built a light bulb warm box that turns on at 38 degrees. I store glues and other products with water in there others get moved to the house. My shop has a propane canon heater that heats the shop up in 30 minutes along with two ceiling heaters.

PChristy

New User
Phillip
Keith, I am no expert on the turning block thing but I do know that when things freeze they do swell - soda can in freezer not a good thing:gar-Bi - anyway with your blanks being green they may swell and crack but may not since you have them sealed - I really don't know so forget about all that I just said and I hope the pros can chime in on this one - very good question by the way:icon_thum

CarvedTones

Board of Directors, Vice President
Andy
Besides the article, a head slap "DUH" occurs to me - trees survive freezing all the time. They don't generate heat (not while living, anyway) so when there is a cold snap, they freeze.

mountaintop

New User
Keith
Guess that makes sense trees freeze in the winter. I just wondered since they move most of the moisture back to the roots before winter if they would crack more freezing and thawing.

flyrod444

New User
Jack