Dovetail Jig query

Status
Not open for further replies.

lottathought

New User
Michael
It appears that I may not be smart enough to be a woodworker. :eusa_doh:
I have now read enough on Dovetail Jigs to be almost totally lost.

I am new to Dovetail making. I really like the look however and I would like to
acquire a jig sometime in the near future. The reason that I am looking into it now is that I am thinking of trying to incorporate some
of these designs into those picture frames....and my wife wants new night stands this year.

I know enough at this point to know that I do not want to start by hand cutting.
I also know that I do not want to have to keep buying these jigs. Even the cheap ones are pricey.
And I will eventually want to make half blind and through dovetails as well as boxcuts.

These jigs have me totally confused however.
I see that that Akeda and Leigh have awesome reviews. But the Porter Cable looks like it gets decent reviews also.
And then the Leigh D4r looks like it can do just about everything....but then so does the Leigh Super 12"...
The Akeda, the Porter Cable Omnijig and the Leigh D4r are pushing up towards $500.00...
The Porter Cable 4212 and Leigh Super 12" are around $200.00...

All of them seem to be doing the same thing and I can not just write off the price difference due to different name brands as
many differences are in the same name brand. Yet the real differences are not jumping out at me.

And then I have to wonder....is any difference just bells and whistles I will never use or is it something that I will be glad I had later on?

I know we have some people who know a little about these things..
What are your opinions on this whole jig situation?

Ray Martin

New User
Ray
Michael,