Worksharp3000 Vs. Lee Valley Pro Cabinet Sharpening Set

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wilmingtonian

New User
David
Okay, I hope that I am not repeating another thread, but I have searched and searched.

I am trying to decide between a Worksharp 3000 or a Lee Valley Professional Cabinetmaker's Sharpening Set.

I have read many posts on the "scary sharp method," but I have no sharpening experience. I am looking for the quickest, easiest way to get the most quality results.

I will be sharpening chisels and plane blades.

Thanks for any insight in my future purchase decision!

Last edited:

JimmyC

New User
Jimmy
I, and many other members can attest to the quality of the Worksharp 3000. It is as close to idiot proof of a system that can be found (that's why I bought it :gar-La;), and we even have one member here who sold his Tormek set up to get one.

Good Luck.

gfernandez

Gonzalo
Corporate Member
David,

I have the Worksharp 3000 and would recommend it to anyone with limited experience. It is pretty foolproof, and I consistently get great results with my chisels. I did have a problem with the first unit I received, and the Worksharp folks were an absolute pleasure to deal with.

While finishing my basement, the trim guys had a few chisels that looked like they had been run through a garbage disposal, lots of nicks and no real edge to speak of. Within 10 minutes, they had 3 brand new looking chisels. They were pretty amazed at how quickly I was able to grind out a new bevel.

Let me know if you have any other specific questions. Good luck with your purchase!

Gonzalo

WoodWrangler

New User
Jeremy
Personally, I'd do the Worksharp ... but eventually you might want the stones too. And now that the Worksharp can do the wider plane irons (with an additional accessory, I might add) ... even better.

Right now MS Live has 14% cashback via eBay (monitor it here: http://www.cashbackr.com/), so if you go that route you'll get some $$ back in your pocket.

sapwood