Warped Cherry

Status
Not open for further replies.

Khb1526

New User
Keith
I am new to buying rough lumber and I bought some wide cherry boards from Gibsonville this weekend to make a writing table. They did not have a good selection of the regular 4-8" wide boards, so I ended up buying some of the 10"+ boards(and paying $2 per foot more). Well I get them home and cut a few pieces that I needed to get started and noticed they were warped. I cut them about 60 inches long and if you lay them on a flat surface, the center of the board is about 1/4"+ off the surface. Did I do a bad job of picking out my wood or is this pretty normal? Should I scrap these pieces and buy better boards?

Secondly, I was planning to make the top out of 4 to 5 six inches wide boards, but I bought a pretty nice 13" wide board. The top is 22" wide, so I could just rip the board down to 11" and join two boards to make the 22". Should I rip the boards down to 5.5 inches to keep them from cupping? It looks pretty good now and it has been in my basement workshop since saturday.
Thanks for your help!

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
You'll need to joint that board to get the warp out. If you don't have a wide jointer just hand plane the high spots then run it through the planer.

If the 13 inch board ain't cupped now, it probably won't cup. Just plane it equally on each side and give the air equal access to both sides.

Cutting a wide board won't help to keep it from cupping.

Travis Porter

Travis
Corporate Member
What you have isn't unusual. Twist is what you want to avoid.

As for what to do, it depends. How big of a jointer do you have (if any)? As for the wide boards with the cup, depending on the grain pattern and your jointer size/availability, I would rip them down the middle and joint and plane them then glue them back together. As for your top, sure you can do that, just be sure to fasten it to the cabinet before too long so it doesn't warp.

mkepke

Mark
Senior User
<snip>