VEVOR Benchtop Band Saw, Opinions please

oldtexasdog

New User
OTD
I am just putting my hobby shop together and am new at this. I saw where there was a Prime deal for a

VEVOR Benchtop Band Saw, 10-Inch, Dual-Speed (560 & 1100 RPM), 370W 1/2HP with stand, miter guage,fence,and work light at 30% off today till midnight. Is this a good deal?​

oldtexasdog

New User
OTD
Harvey makes great equipment but is a little rich for my blood or what blood I have left after I bought their table saw🤑 so for 200.00 inc delivery I thought this might be a good one to get my feet wet so to speak.

Henry W

Henry
Corporate Member
I am just putting my hobby shop together and am new at this. I saw where there was a Prime deal for a

VEVOR Benchtop Band Saw, 10-Inch, Dual-Speed (560 & 1100 RPM), 370W 1/2HP with stand, miter guage,fence,and work light at 30% off today till midnight. Is this a good deal?​

That depends very much on what you were planning to do with it.
I have no specific knowledge of the Vevor brand (and never heard of it), but 10" bench top bandsaws are much more limited in capabilties than larger tools. Same is pretty much true for most benchtop tools, so that's no real surprise. If you are a model maker, boxmaker, or intarsia craftsman, (i.e. work on small pieces) then this tool might be exactly what you need. If you are expecting to rough out 16-20" diamter bowl blanks from raw logs, then there are certainly more suitable tools out there. So expectations are key here.

Henry W

Henry
Corporate Member
It also depends on what other tools you have or have access to. If this was your only tool to rip lumber, then ithis would not be my choice (but it might work - I have no experience with a BS this size). if you have a table saw and a tracxk saw too, then this might be a great choice. I often wonder if a decent jig saw is a better choice for curve cutting, depsite limitations on the depth of cut.