Suggestions for flex shaft carver

Status
Not open for further replies.

steviegwood

New User
Steven
Hi Y'all, I had a rotary tool (non dremel) with a flex shaft that came in a kit from Northern Tools. The flex shaft sheath burned in to. Northern does not offer any replacement parts and it would probably cost more than what I paid for the whole kit anyway. My question is does anyone use a flex shaft power carver and how does it hold up? Any advice for a decent carver at a decent price would be appreciated. I am not a carver by trade but do use them on my custom frames. Thanks. Steve

CarvedTones

Board of Directors, Vice President
Andy
There are two basic types of serious flex shaft carving tools - Foredom and Foredom knock offs. I have a cheap imported knock off. Any hanging motor carver is a big step up from the hand held models fitted with a shaft. They have a lot more power, usually a better range of speeds and they don't burn up as easy since they have large metal housings that disappate heat a lot better than a motor in a hand held that has to keep the housing from getting too hot to hold.

I would price a Foredom before looking at alternatives.

Phil S

Phil Soper
Staff member
Corporate Member
Steve, I own a Foredom with numerous bits. The machine works great as long as you do not bend the flex shaft too much. I really do not use the machine much so here is the deal. If you want to try it for 3 or 4 months see if you can arrange a PE from Raleigh or I could just send it via UPS, your call. Let me know I just want it back by ---- lets say June
Happy Holidays
Phil

FredP

Fred
Corporate Member