New member in Ralegh

Status
Not open for further replies.

seebee

New User
charles
I relocated to Raleigh in October and joined the Triangle Wood Workers. They told me about this site and suggested that I join. I was an active member of the Western Pennsylvania Wood Workers for many years.

I am a retired Electrical Engineer that spent most of my career as an executive in the semiconductor industry. My hobbies include the design and construction of fine furniture, clock making, tool and die making, restoration of antique tractors and engines, and home brewing. I have a relatively complete wood and metal shop. My wife and I are in the progress of building a home and shop in Granville County, so all my equipment is in storage until the shop is completed.

My last project before we moved was a solid walnut pencil post bed with a spalted maple headboard. It was constructed from air dried, rough sawn walnut that I obtained from a retired forester. I designed and built a indexed taper jig to cut the octagonal posts on my table saw. The transitions from the octagonal section to the square section were cut on my Bridgeport milling machine. The bed was a wedding present for my daughter.

Charles

DaveO

New User
DaveO
Welcome Charles, I am glad that you found us. You've quickly found two of the best woodworking organizations in this area. Both are a wealth of knowledge and like minded folks. I look forward to your input in the forums and hopefully seeing some pictures of your shop as it progresses and the work that comes out of it later. The bed you described sounds gorgeous. The color of Walnut works so well with the light/dark contrast of spalted Maple.
See you around!!!

Dave:)

farmerbw

Brian
Corporate Member
Charles, welcome aboard. You'll find a great group of folks around here that like to make sawdust. We like pictures of anything and look forward to seeing some from you.:thumbs_up

Brian.

M

McRabbet