Hawaiian Norfolk Pine vase's

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kalai

New User
Chris Kalai Allen
Hi everyone, sorry I have not posted very much recently but since I am a fulltime woodworker I get busy sometimes, I have been working on a order of 50 Koa bowls, I have about another week of work and then they should be done but I had to take a break from the bowls and I turned 6 Norfolk Pine vases and this is 3 of them, the other 3 are almost done. the tallest vase is 8 inches tall and 5 inches in diameter. When I do vases with Norfolk Pine I use a gloss polyurethane finish on them to bring out the color, I will be doing some bowls out of Norfolk Pine and I will be soaking them to make them translucent and I will post pics of those too. Well back to work, aloha.

Chris Kalai Allen:icon_thum

npine005.jpg

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
That wood has some striking figure!

Is Norfolk Pine soft? And then the knots are very hard?

Must be very difficult to turn well?

skeeter

New User
Charles
Great looking vases. The Norfork pine is awesome. I haven't tried mine yet, (chicken) but the blank is really nice.

PChristy

New User
Phillip
Chris, great job:icon_thum - with the knots the middle one is awesome - keep up the good work and I can't wait to see what you do next

Phillip

Kalai

New User
Chris Kalai Allen