Dremel Scrollsaw

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jim M.

Woody
Corporate Member
Quick question - does anybody have this model and if so how would you rate it for medium use? Jim

Dremel 1830 120V 18" Scroll Saw

Attachments

• 1830_pd.jpg
    1830_pd.jpg
    67.2 KB · Views: 303

cskipper

Cathy
I don't know that this was the Dremel that I tried. My only experience with a Dremel was not pretty. I opened it up, used it for a very short time, boxed it back up and returned it to the store. It had a TREMENDOUS amount of vibration. May have had other things I didn't like, but I've slept way too many times to remember.

They do make one with a sanding station on the side. I have no personal experience with it, but know one of the guys at the Greenville WC that likes it.

If you are going to use it occasionally it may be fine. If you are going to use it to really scroll saw much, you might want to look at other saws.

WoodWrangler

New User
Jeremy
Personally, never used it ... however in my research for scroll saws it was definately at the bottom of the bucket in most people's opinions that I read.

Seems that a medium-use one that might be good is Delta's, or a step up to DeWalt.

:eusa_thin

christopheralan

New User
Christopheralan
In a word... DON'T.

I used one when I first started scrollin' and it was lously. I didn't know it at the time, but once I started using better saws I saw how crappy the dremel was.

Jim M.

Woody
Corporate Member
Thanks for the feedback, what model Delta was good? the Shopmaster I tried moved around the bench top like a palm sander. Jim

cskipper

Cathy
I used a Delta for several years. I bought it at Lowe's, and WC used to sell it - ran about $250. It still vibrates, but not nearly as bad as the less expensive ones. If you can swing around $500 - the DeWalt sold at WC is pretty good. Try to get one that does not say "Type 2" on the motor. Those had problems with the blade clamps, although that could have been resolved.