zenbot

Rjgooden

Big Ron
User
I am thinking about getting a cnc router, does anyone know anything about a zenbot 48x48 supposed to have everything but the computer with a program. is this a decent machine for starting out? What should I look for when I go to look at it?
thanks,
Ron

kserdar

Ken
Senior User
From their web page - I can't tell much about the machine.
Just that it uses belts and pulleys.
Is it all steel construction?
Router/spindle included?
what does it use for slides?
Size and power of steppers?

JNCarr

Joe
Corporate Member
Hi Ron -
Sorry for late response - have been out of pocket...
When I was looking at CNCs, I considered everything from build-your-own to the very high end turn-key systems. I'm an electrical engineer with extensive motion hardware and software background and my conclusion was - buy a solid all-in-one machine and start cutting wood! There are a lot of intricacies between the hardware and the software that need to be considered. I dont know anything about Zenbot, but strongly recommend a turnkey system. People have spent years tweaking the hardware/software interface and getting everything just right. There are a number of decent CNCs out there, from Shopbot to Axiom to $$$.

Consider how accurate and maintenance free you want it to be - I chose a system with acme screws over belts and pulleys. Consider how much you will run it continuously - you can get a head with either a standard router mount or a spindle motor/ I chose a water cooled spindle motor and love it.