Woodworking Advice and Peanut Butter Jelly Sandwiches

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tarhead

Mark
Corporate Member
I saw this on Bob Lang's Blog and thought it needed repeating here. Sometimes we try too hard to answer the simple questions and for whatever reason send the wrong message:

http://www.popularwoodworking.com/w...(Popular+Woodworking)&utm_content=Yahoo!+Mail

"I spend way too much time reading woodworking forums, and lately I’ve been wondering how woodworkers would respond to a basic question from another area, such as cooking. It might go something like this:

Woodrow Wannabee: I’m new to this, but I think I’m ready to tackle making a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. What’s the best way to get started? What tools do I need, and what’s the best bread, peanut butter and jelly? Also, I can’t decide if I should put the peanut butter on both pieces of bread or only one. Please help, because it’s getting close to lunch and I’m hungry.

H. N. Mighty: Before you can even begin to think about actually making a sandwich you absolutely have to make sure that your work area is complete. Then and only then can you consider things like tools and material. You need a dead flat solid rock maple butcher block counter top from Indiana for your kitchen, or your project is doomed. When you have that, come back and we can tell you about the other stuff.