Wondering if I get a discount

Hmerkle

Board of Directors, Development Director
Hank
Staff member
Corporate Member
I too want to learn SU - but struggle getting anywhere. Unlike Hank, I have no experience to 'draw on' though (pun intended).
I am thinking it is a detriment that I know other drawing packages, because I am looking for the "XX" tool and not sure how you do "that" in SU...
I just need to apply myself and devote the time time to learning it...

My new excuse is that my laptop does not have a CD player... and that is the media I have the training on...

pop-pop

Man with many vises
Corporate Member
I am thinking it is a detriment that I know other drawing packages, because I am looking for the "XX" tool and not sure how you do "that" in SU...

Agree. I struggled with DeltaCad concepts coming from a drafting board. Once I grasped the “point” concept things became easier. As steep as that learning curve was, I would never try to learn a second CAD program. I took a SketchUp class but didn’t practice and those skills rotted quickly. Again, the basic SU concepts are so different from CAD. Drawing a side and pulling it to make a solid was really foreign to me.

Oka

Casey
Corporate Member
The Mozart effect guy ? kinda. Just know the name and its association. Playing classical music is much like being a carpenter, you are have skill but part of a team. One observation I found striking, how many symphony players were great at their instrument but knew so little about the actual music and how it was constructed (composed).
You find the exact thing in the trades, people with great hand and eye skill but really cannot interpret a plan or visualize what they are building.