Which hand plane is best for this use?

Caseykasem

New User
Casey
So I’m going to get a hand plane just to flatten boards 2-4ft in length after they are mostly flat from the jointer. My technique isn’t the best on the jointer and it’s easier for me to hand plane the first face until I can get better at using the jointer. I have $200 GC at Klingspor. Which plane would be best for this use?

Raymond

Raymond
Staff member
Corporate Member
Casey, I am still learning to use hand planes, so I have no advise for you on this subject. However, before you buy any plane you may want to test feel how the plane feels in your hands. Once our resident experts have given you their advise then try to handle the suggested ones and go from there.

For me most planes are too small and therefore, uncomfortable, due to the size of my hands.

Good luck in your new journey!

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
You will work yourself to death trying to flatten a board with one plane. You need at least two and possibly a third.
First you need something that will quickly take off rough, thick, shavings. I use a #6 with the blade ground to an eight inch radius.
Some people use a #40 scrub plane but that is too small for me. Some use a number 5 with the rounded blade.
But, the idea is the same. Make quick work of removing as much wood as possible in the shortest time with the least work.
Then you need to level out the slight dips and waves left by the first operation.
For this you need a jointer plane, either a #7 or a #8. This will allow you to flatten and level the board.

If you then plan to use a power planer then that is as far as you need to go. But, if you want to hand plane the finished board
then you will need a #4 that is finely tuned and super sharp to get that high sheen clean surface that is almost ready to finish.

So, it is really a 3 or 4 step process that requires different tools for each stage of the work.

Caseykasem

New User
Casey