Where to Buy Used Clamps

dgrano

New User
Dan
Hello everyone. This is my first time posting to the forum but I've benefitted a lot from reading it. I am just getting started and building out my shop, and I was wondering if any of you had recommendations on places to shop for used and/or vintage clamps. I have a decent handful of pipe clamps but really need bar clamps. I try to keep an eye on Craigslist and FB Marketplace but they have been hit or miss for me and I haven't found too many significant discounts.

Are there any antique markets or flea markets that are reliable places to try? I live in the Charlotte area but am willing to drive. Thanks so much!

- Dan

Rwe2156

DrBob
Senior User
If you already have pipe clamps, why do you need bar clamps?

If you're talking about F clamps, I've been pretty happy with the Harbor Freights.

I've also several HF aluminum bar clamps. But they need work: filing the slider so it doesn't bind, and I insert a section of hardwood in the channel to stiffen.

tri4sale

Daniel
Corporate Member
Used clamps are not easy to find, I've had luck at estate sales and such, but for the most part, people don't part with clamps. Keep an eye on Klingspor and Woodcraft this month for black Friday and holiday sales, I got a great deal on clamps at Woodcraft 2 years ago, had a box of clamps (I think it was like two 24" and two 48" or something like that) for close to 50% regular price (if memory services me right, I just know it was such a good deal I bought 2 boxes)

Henry W

Henry
Corporate Member
... If you're talking about F clamps, I've been pretty happy with the Harbor Freights.

I've also several HF aluminum bar clamps. But they need work: filing the slider so it doesn't bind, and I insert a section of hardwood in the channel to stiffen.