Walnut Lumber

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

jeff...

Got two walnut trees coming, including the root balls. About 20" diameter and about 24' plus of good straight trunk before the crotch.

Was thinking of cutting the trunks into 6 or 8' sections, and the crotch as long as I can get, but wanted to know what rough cut dimensions would sell best, 1x or 2x? As for the root balls, since it will more than likely be highly figured, was thinking about thick slabs, whatever dimensions I can get out of them.

As you know I'm new to saw milling and don't have a good handle on what folks are looking for. I know what I would want, but I'm planning on selling the lumber. So please give me your thoughts, of what would be the most desirable dimensions.

By the way, I should have the solar kiln up and running by the time I saw these logs and root balls. If things go as planned, I should be able to kiln dry the lumber. But the root balls will be slabbed and coated with anchor seal, for resaw or turning.

Thanks...

dancam

Dan
Corporate Member
Jeff,

Thanks for the heads up on the walnut. I for one would be most interested in 1X stock (1 1/8") for furniture. Let me know when available.

Thanks again.

Dan C.:roll:

Last edited by a moderator:

BobN

New User
Bob
Jeff,

I would be interested in some of your Walnut, depending on price. I would perferr 5/4. Would also be interested in some bowl blanks.

Bob

J

jeff...

Bob / Dan C. , thanks for the replies. I'm new to milling, but I'm learning, the more I mill, the more I learn. It’s important for me to understand what people are looking for, so I don't cut up a bunch of junk.

If you like I could slice up some 4/4 and 5/4 boards, I would expect they will be fairly wide but won't know for sure till I open up the logs and see how much sap wood there is... How many board feet you looking for?