Vibration in new Steel City 6 inch jointer

Status
Not open for further replies.

roweathers

New User
Ron
Hi all. I have a brand new Steel City 6 inch jointer. This is my first jointer and last night was my first use. I noticed more vibration in the jointer than I would have expected, but since I have zero past experience, I don't know what would be considered normal vibration.

I would appreciate any other experiences with jointer vibration (with SC or other makes/models). Also, any suggestions for diagnosing potential contributors to the vibration and what tips for taming vibrations.

Many thanks
Ron

scsmith42

New User
Scott Smith
Ron, if the jointer head is belt driven your problem may be related to the belts.

Sometimes if an installed belt stays in the same position for a long time, it will develop a "memory" and cause a vibration (from where the belt is wrapped around a small pulley). This vibration will be worse when the belts are cold.

Sometimes running them ( or letting the belts warm up) will reduce or alleviate the problem. Sometimes you have to change the belt.

You might see if you can find out when your jointer was manufactured, and how long the belts may have been in a stationary position.

Regards,

Scott

roweathers

New User
Ron
Scott, many thanks for the insight. The head is belt driven. I pulled the back cover off and increased the belt tension, but I don't think this made a big difference. I will check the belt again and probably replace with a new just to eliminate this as a contributor. Thanks again.
Ron

JackLeg

New User
Reggie
:wsmile:All that Scott said, PLUS, get you a link belt and your vibration problem is gone!

WoodWrangler

New User
Jeremy
I'd be calling Steel City before investing in a belt.