Unibond One

BKHam

Bradley
User
i do quite a bit of veneering and if i use commercial veneer or thinly cut homemade veneer (maybe trying to stretch materials or my bandsaw wasn't tuned), i've been getting wrinkling in my veneer.

i beleive the other aspect is the amount of glue i'm using. i think that hydraulic pressure builds up and the excess has nowhere to go so it pools, exacerbating the amount of glue issue in places. then combine that with thin materials, it becomes soaked and i get wrinkles.

i guess this turned into an advice post - if you are using thin veneers, be judicious with the glue, especially in the middle of the panel. around the edges, add an extra bead. on the but in the middle, just enough to cover.

if you use a roller, try rolling out the excess from the roller before adding new glue.

creasman

Jim
Staff member
Corporate Member
What glue are you using? Have you tried using hot hide glue with a veneer hammer? I'm no expert, but I find this works well for thin veneers. If you do have a spot where it hasn't fully adhered, then you can use a hot iron and damp cloth to reactivate the glue.

By thin veneer I mean the ones I slice myself, which are thicker than the ones you buy (3/64"ish). For anything over 1/16" I switch to using regular wood glue (e.g., Titebond) and a vacuum press.

BKHam

Bradley
User
What glue are you using? Have you tried using hot hide glue with a veneer hammer? I'm no expert, but I find this works well for thin veneers. If you do have a spot where it hasn't fully adhered, then you can use a hot iron and damp cloth to reactivate the glue.

By thin veneer I mean the ones I slice myself, which are thicker than the ones you buy (3/64"ish). For anything over 1/16" I switch to using regular wood glue (e.g., Titebond) and a vacuum press.

i use unibond one, a long open time, low bleed, rigid line glue for veneer to substrate gluing.

I appreciate the solution but i likely won't go the hide glue route. i like using my vac bag.