Trundle Bed- now with pic

Status
Not open for further replies.

dbvilla

New User
Dawn
While waiting in a doctors office, I picked up an old issue of Country Living. I saw my next project. It was a trundle bed and ropes were used to hold up the mattress. This absolutely blew me away. Has anyone built anything similiar. I found some plans online that I could modify to suit my propose. But as you know, I am a newbie... do you think my next project may be too advanced? Here is a pic of what I have in mind.

Dawn

Attachments

• bed.jpg
    bed.jpg
    274.9 KB · Views: 221
Last edited:

DaveO

New User
DaveO
Re: Trundle Bed

I have never built anything like that. But the ropes holding the mattress up is where the saying "sleep tight" came from. 'Cause if they came loose you really didn't get a very good night sleep. If you had a picture of the bed you have in mind it might be easier to picture how it is built. I feel confident that you could do it if you put your mind to it and ask questions when you get stuck.
Dave:)

dbvilla

New User
Dawn

I was just showing my hubby what I was going to build. I will try to scan the picture tomorrow and post it. I already have that tingling feeling you get when a new project comes to mind..
Dawn

D L Ames

New User
D L Ames

Dawn, from the looks of how well your table and cabinet turned out I think your fully prepared to take on a project like that. You also have a wealth of knowledge here on the site that you can turn to for advice if you run up against anything you are unsure of. Best of luck with. I look forward to seeing the photos of the design as well as some in-progress photos.

D L

Monty

New User
Monty

Should be an interesting project! Along the lines of what DaveO said, if I'm not mistaken the ropes will stretch and loosen over time, and you have to have a way to tighten them back up.

Edit to add attachment: a picture of a bed key, used to tighten the ropes:

Attachments

• bedkey.jpg
    bedkey.jpg