Toy Box plans

Status
Not open for further replies.

TracyB

New User
Tracy
My grandsons 1st birthday is coming up and my daughter wants me to build him a toy box. Since I have limited woodworking knowledge and skill, I was wondering if anyone has built one or knows of any online plans. I saw a picture of one in the Rockler catalog that I like but there are no plans for it. Its just a photo demonstrating "torsion hinges" that are on the box. Any help would be appreciated.
I hope everyone is doing well.

TracyB

DaveO

New User
DaveO
A toy box is nothing but a box with a lid, or not, or maybe drawers. It's a space to hold toys, you don't need a plan for that. How much toys will determine the volume, or look to the space that it will be stored in and make it to fit the area. Toy boxes can be as simple as butt jointed plywood to more complicated as frame and panel construction. Your finishing plans can play a big part in deciding on a construction method. A painted piece can hide a lot of sins and can be more simply constructed. Clear finished pieces might ask for more fancy joinery.
I think the most important thing in the design of a toy box with a lid would be soft closing hinges so no little one gets banged on the head. It is also smart to include air holes just in case a little one gets in there playing hide-and-seek.
While not exactly toy "boxes" per say here are a few things that I have made that will fit the bill -

Dave_003.jpg

Toy drawers/window seat

Toy_boxes_003.jpg

Moo toy box in heavy use.

Toy_boxes_001.jpg

Mobile home toy box...reaching maximum occupancy

Blanket_Chest_WIP_Pickles_017.jpg

Too tall to be a kids toy box, but shrunk down it could be very useful.
Steve Diener made a toy box for his daughter and used some awesome hinges. They might be the ones on Rockler. They were very unobtrusive but held tight in any position. Very safe, and that is the most important part of a toy box...
HTH,
Dave:)

TracyB

New User
Tracy