Toxic Wood

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

McRabbet

We have a similar table in our Link Library under the Woodworking Reference Category. There are some nasty woods out there that really require us to take appropriate precautions when we use them. Thanks for posting this and if you want, add it to the Link Library in the Woodworking Reference Category.

CrealBilly

New User
Jeff
Black Walnut may only be 2 plus marks on the chart but for me it's like 10. It's about the only wood I ran across that just plain messes me up, it's some Nasty Nasty stuff... :tongue2:

decibel

New User
Patrick
So for these woods (Black Walnut in particular so Jeff feel free to chime in) Are the toxic properties minimized once a finish is applied. I see walnut says the dust and the wood. Curious if that means I shouldn't use walnut for certain types of furniture?:dontknow:

ScottM

Scott
Staff member
Corporate Member
Patrick, I am no doctor but I believe the issues occur only when working with these woods. Once the item is completed and finished it should be safe. Of course eveyone reacts differently.

Gotcha6

Dennis
Staff member
Corporate Member
In reference to Walnut, I seem to recall a post some time back about Walnut shavings being very toxic when used as stall litter for horses. I think anyone that's doing WWing on any regular basis should use some type of respiration protection - even if it's just a fan to blow the stuff outa your face. 'Course, neander tools don't count ('less it's a cabinet scraper)........

Dan Bowman

New User
Dan Bowman
Last weekend I discovered that Lacewood is nasty, like poison ivy anywhere my skin collected sawdust. I've been scratching and laying down benadryl and cortisone for the last 5 days. I also discovered that I should have washed my hands both before and after using the bathroom. Thank goodness I was wearing a respirator!

PChristy

New User
Phillip