Table saw questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

jhreed

New User
james
I have a Jet JTAS10 xacta-saw. I purchased a INCRA IBOX & a stacked dado set to use with it. I have never used a stacked dado before. I installed the dado set,two outside blades, one chipper, & two shims. This leaves very little clearance left of the dado set and the table insert. (my saw is right tilt) What is the deal? How can I install the dado set with the 3/4" width?

Also, the blade guard of the IBOX cannot be used with the tablesaw splitter & blade guard in place. Is it acceptable to remove the blade guard from the I BOX and use the tablesaw blade guard instead?

Sorry I am so ignorant & in-experience, but that is why I am a member of this forum. To learn and expand my experience. Thanks for your help.
James

T

toolferone

James, It is very common to remove the table saw splitter and guard for some cuts. You can't use a traditional splitter with a non-thru cut (dado). Are you trying to use the blade insert that came with the saw or do you have a dado insert? A dado insert has a much wider opening. You need to get the one for your saw. There are many aftermarket ones around.

jhreed

New User
james
Thanks Tom. I am using the red metal insert that came with the saw. It has plenty of opening to the right of the dado set, but no enough to the left of the dado set.

There is plenty of room to make the box joint dado before encountering the splitter. My splitter & blade guard requires the removal of two bolts that are down inside the cabinet and require a line up procedure when re-installing. I am just being lazy, but do not want to be unsafe. My idea appears to be safe to me. Using the original blade guard that came with the saw and removing the blade guard that came with the IBOX.

i THOUGHT THE RED METAL INSERT THAT CAME WITH THE SAW WAS INTENDED TO ALSO BE USED WITH STACKED DADO BLADES. I have a Leecraft zero clearance insert I use with my regular blade.
James

Mike Davis

Mike