Sketchup help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Boomer76

New User
Boomer
I don't know if this is the right place to post this but I'm totally new to using sketchup and am having an issue. I'm trying to create a model of the box I'm building to visualize the top. What I can't seem to figure out is how to create a curved surface. I have the lines drawn but they the surface doesn't appear like it does drawing a flat surface. I'm trying to attach the file so y'all can see. I want to color fill the two curved sides of the legs and the four curved panels of the top. Thanks

Attachments

• Keepsake.skp
    169 KB · Views: 189

JohnnyR

John
Corporate Member
Hopefully Dave Richards will chime in. Your file is read only so I can't experiment with it. The problem is with curves that SU dosen't dray a continuous curve but it is segmented - zoom way in and you can see it. You could color each segment individually. After you draw it use the smoothing function.
The way I do it is: Raise the whole rectangle to the height of the apex, then on edge create the curve you're looking for (just from one side to the apex 90') and then you can take the follow me tool around the top to get rid of the wood you don't want.

Dave Richards

Dave
Senior User
Yes, I've come along to chime in. Hang on a bit and I'll do something to show you.

John, the reason the file opened as Read Only for you is it was saved somewhere SketchUp can't write to for Autosave. You could still edit it.

Dave Richards

Dave
Senior User
OK, There are better ways to draw the lid (and the legs) from the beginning but since you have it drawn this far, you can finish it.

First, I opened the component for editing and using the Line tool, I connected the vertices on the arcs.
Screenshot - 8_26_2017 , 7_53_13 AM.png

Repeat drawing the lines until you have finished filling in the faces.
Screenshot - 8_26_2017 , 7_54_49 AM.png