Shopfox jointer - turning off after a few seconds

Bill_L

Bill
Corporate Member
Hi,
We were using the jointer yesterday (milling ~12" x 4" pieces of walnut) when it turned off. That has happened before and you take the back off and push the reset switch and all is good. Now, the jointer runs for a few seconds and then turns off. I think it could be the belt. In one of the videos I took (will try to upload) the belt appears to be loose. With a little help - we got it tighter but it still turns off after a few seconds. Should I be setting the motor in place and then trying to attach the belt? I thought the weight of the motor would be sufficient to keep the belt tight but perhaps not. I have ZERO electrical intellect, maybe less - so any electrical questions will be lost on me. It is on a separate 240V plug and that is not getting tripped. Any thoughts? Thanks.

mark2

Mark
Corporate Member
Not being an Electrician, I am sure there is better advice available, but I would first check that all wires in the plug are securely connected. If that didn't show any trouble or cure the problem, I would look for mechanical resistance in the cutter head or motor by spinning each with power disconnected and belt removed.

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
If it is tripping the motor reset then something electrical is not right. The belt would have absolutely no effect on that.
Could be loose connection, sawdust in motor, bad capacitor, etc...

bob vaughan

Bob Vaughan
Senior User
It could also be corroded contacts in the switch. Anyway you can wire the motor direct to the outlet bypassing the switch?

Below, the bottom blackened set of Asian made contacts are chewed up from arcing corrosion. This switch had a label that read 12-14 amps, 3 HP at 240 volts.
At the very bottom is a contact from a NEMA grade switch with the same specifications.

1     contacts - 1.jpg

Bill_L

Bill
Corporate Member