Shop Cart w/ Drawers: Sketchup Model

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jeremy Scuteri

Jeremy
This is my first attempt to make a project that begins with a Sketchup Model. All projects I have done in the past have been based on existing plans or very crude drawings that I threw together myself. This is a simple project, so I figured I would try and model it in Sketchup first as practice for more complicated future designs.

This cart will sit under the extension table of my tablesaw. I really need more drawers for storage and it can be pulled out as a surface to set project parts on or anything else that I need.

ShopCart.png

ShopCart_DrawersPulled.png

ShopCart_Drawer.png

Anyone have any comments or suggestions? I would love to get some input on the overall design and the Sketchup model. Thanks.

Bill Clemmons

Bill
Corporate Member
Nice job, Jeremy. For me, SketchUp is just a nice drawing method to work out proportions and dimensions before I start cutting. I also us it to develop working drawings and parts list. Anything more than that is nice, but not necessary to go to the shop.

Hmerkle

Board of Directors, Development Director
Hank
Staff member
Corporate Member
GREAT Job Jeremy!
Looks good and it will be interesting to see what you change as you "Get on with the business!"

eyekode

New User
Salem
I like the idea of being able to pull it out to serve as an assembly table or something.

I am sketching up a general tool cart as well. I have made one before and the drawers were as you drew them. That design makes it trivial to use drawer guides and to attach the drawer fronts for an even reveal.

IMG_2712.JPG

For a wood shop I like the cheap under mount glides as they wont gum up like ball bearings can.
That said my next one will use ball bearings because that is what I have :).

Good luck!

Last edited:

Dave Richards

Dave
Senior User