Seal or not - trying to increase spalting

Status
Not open for further replies.

ZMan

New User
Bob
I am confused - I have 6 Maple logs that I am trying to increase the spalting in. I put them in bags and covered with moist sawdust per the directions I found on the web.

But, standard procedure to prevent checking is to debark and seal the ends.

Would sealing the ends defeat the attempt to increase the spalting?

Bob

D L Ames

New User
D L Ames
ZMan, I am sure someone more knowledgable than me will chime in soon on to give you the answer you seek because I have zero experience in this process.

I have read about the same technique you mentioned in your post and agree it does sound confusing on whether debarking and sealing would be required. I know that you want to do both of these when drying wood but maybe it is not required with this technique since you have added moisture into the process which will slow the drying process and limit the amount of checking. I would assume that once you reach the level of spalting you want then you would have to stop the spalting process to prevent further decay. I am guessing that would be the time to seal the ends.

Like the ZMan, I would be interested in hearing how this process is supposed to be done. Can anyone chime in here with some advice?

D L

DaveO

New User
DaveO
I have never done any spalting procceses, but I would agree with D L. Most of the spalted "found" wood I've seen has been in firewood piles and it isn't sealed. Insomniac had a nice pile of logs spalting at his shop and they were just lying there on the ground (I don't know if he was intentional trying to spalt them, or just didn't take care of some of his turning wood). I believe he bandsawed some of them into boards and is now allowing them to dry enough to be used. So I would vote for not sealed, but sealed after cutting in boards, or just turned green. Dave:)

D L Ames

New User
D L Ames