Scroll Saw

Status
Not open for further replies.

wooduser

New User
Lecil
I am considering the purchase of an entry level scroll saw. I have narrowed down to two that I think fit my requirements, the Porter Cable 16" saw and the Rikon 16" saw. I don't have any knowledge of scroll saws and am asking for input. I know of blade types and tools required for changing them and I have heard something about vibration. Which would be best? I just want something around for general use, not fine fret worth, etc. :tool:

ScottM

Scott
Staff member
Corporate Member
Sorry but no experience with either of those saws. I have owned Dremel, Dewalt and Hawk scroll saw. I still own a Dewalt and Hawk. Hands down the Dewalt is the best all around of them all. I would not buy any saw that requires tools to change blades. I would also not use pin type blades.

PChristy

New User
Phillip
Sorry wooduser but Like Scott I have no experience of the two you mentioned - I have owned a Dremel - which they have stopped making - and it served me well- I now use a DeWalt 788 Series 1 (USA) - It really depends on how much you want to spend - MHOP - If you get one of the ones that are on the low end in cost and performance and you want it just for general use - then you find out that you want to upgrade then you are going to have to spend more money to upgrade - then you might not be able to resale the low end machine for a price you think you should have out of it - Having two saws is not bad but with me the lower end one is just taking up space in my little shop - If you can wait and check CL to see if you can get a used one - not pushing the DeWalt but it has been a nice machine for me - I have heard that the Delta is basically the same machine and alot cheaper if you go the "new" machine route - JM2CW for what it is worth

cskipper

Cathy