Sawyer in Western NC

Status
Not open for further replies.

Douglas Robinson

Doug Robinson
Corporate Member
Hank Knight is looking for sawyer in Western NC. Anyone have a recommendation? Here is his inquiry in his own words:

"A close friend has offered me as much hardwood timber as I want from his farm in Western North Carolina. He has oak, maple, poplar, hickory - all of the Southern hardwoods. It's standing timber. I need to fell it and have it milled. There's a great sawmill, Edward's Sawmill in Iron Station, about 45 miles away. They custom mill and will dry lumber they mill. I could have the timber felled and hauled to Edwards, or I could hire someone with a bandsaw mill to mill it on site. If I have it milled onsite, I have to find a way to dry it. I will also have to find a place to store it since I have limited space at my home. I've never done this before, but this sounds like an opportunity I can't pass up. Any recommendations for getting the best yield without spending a fortune in the process?
Thanks for any suggestions."

Doug

M

McRabbet

Doug,

Without reservation, I would recommend Mountain Sawyers, LLC of Fairview, NC (just south of Asheville). They have a website at www.mountainsawyers.com and can be reached by phone at 828-713-5851. They probably will not cut the trees, but they have an excellent band mill and if there is sufficient lumber to be milled, I certain they will do it on site for a reasonable fee. They can also arrange to have any hardwoods kiln-dried through another hardwoods dealer in the area, Bee Tree Hardwoods in Swannanoa.

My recommendation is based on personal experience -- I have had cherry milled by Wes and Steve Keull and they arranged to have it kiln-dried as well. Very good folks. Wes is a member of this site (wkeull) and you can PM him or send him an e-mail at wkeull @ mountainsawyers.com -- just reference my name if you would.

walnutjerry

Jerry
Senior User