Sanding

Status
Not open for further replies.

PeteM

Pete
Corporate Member
The author of a project book I'm looking at says he "dislikes sanding" but says . . .

I go through the complete schedule of 100, 120, 150, 180, 220, 320 and finally 400. Before finishing I will vigorously rub the entire project with a red, gray and finish with a white 3M pad.

That's 10 times over the piece. Seem a bit excessive to me. What do you think????

pete

PChristy

New User
Phillip
Pete, I am no expert on the sanding process but I think it depends on what the project is and what what type of finish you are looking for - I know with the lathe I have went up to 400 on some things but others I have went up to 800 - I would like to go up to 12000 when I can get the MM kit - On my scrolling I usually just go up to 400 staring with 220 - As I said at the first I think it depends on the project and the finish you want

Added: After looking at your original question - yea I think he is over doing it if he "dislikes sanding"

mikeacg

New User
Mike
Pete,

I am with you on that one! I hate sanding because I have dust allergies and I know that I do a minimum amount of it. If this guy really hated it, you'd think he might skip at least a couple of those steps - or hire someone to do it for him!

WoodWrangler

New User
Jeremy
:cool: I know where you saw/read this ... and I too was like "dang!"

However, in my limited experience I can actually see how that schedule may actually result in LESS sanding believe it or not. Because when you skip the grits you actually end up spending more time on the "next" grit, however one in the middle would have made quick work of it. It's my guess that he's not spending a lot of time on any grit.

As for the final Mirlon pads ... not so sure about all of that. I've not noticed a lot of difference with those dang things.

scsmith42

New User
Scott Smith
Hmm.... I typically go through a similar process as the author, but perhaps skip a few grits in-between.