Sanding Sealer

Status
Not open for further replies.

rick7938

New User
Rick
I have built some small wine racks - 1 each from pecan, walnut, and cedar. These woods are so different, I am wondering if I should use a sanding sealer on them to get a consistent finish with satin polyurethane. I have used the satin poly wipe on a couple of pecan wine racks before, sanding between each coat with 220 paper, but the fine was not consistent.

Any suggestions? These need to look as nice as possible since they are going to be Christmas gifts. Thanks in advance for any guidance. I am still very new to woodworking and will appreciate any advice.

DaveO

New User
DaveO
You're working on X-mas gifts already, you're a far better man than I :lol: :lol:
Poly is a film finish and will sit on top of the wood, sealing it won't do a lot of good. But what I think you are wanting to happen is a grain filler, to give as smooth of a surface as possible. I would try a few coats of Zinnser Seal-coat (dewaxed)shellac. Put down two coats and sand smooth, then a final coat. it will fill the grain a little and give you a much smoother surface to lay your poly on top of.
Wipe on poly leaves a very thin layer with little build per coat. I would also apply several coats then a light sanding so you don't cut too far through the film. Probably 3 coats then sand, 2 more coats and another sanding with 0000 steel wool and then a final coat over everything.
My .02, Dave:)

rick7938

New User
Rick
Thanks, Dave. I see the Seal-Coat in the Woodworker Supply catalog. I will order some and give it a try.

Again, many thanks for the advice.

J

jeff...

I think the purpose of sanding sealer is to seal or prime bare wood, used to provide a base for finishing coats. With it's high solids count it makes sanding easier and enough coats could eaisly fill grain and small defects in wood.