routing routine

Status
Not open for further replies.

mosaic

New User
David
I would appreciate advice on a trivet project i have in mind. I plan to make a large number of these: The plan is to use solid cherry squares. sau 10" by 10", and 3/4" thick. on the top side, I'd like to cut a square form, 8" by 8" and down into the wood 1/4" deep. Into the square cut out, I'd like to compose a stone mosaic with 1cm stone cubes. Then I'll grout the mosaic. It will protrude above the top of the wood trvet surface by 2-3 cms.

How best to cut out the 8" square? Using a plunger router? What horsepowr? What options or accessories should look for in a router? I have a solid table to set it on.

I've never used a router before and need to be educated!

Thanks very much for your time and attention. David

Travis Porter

Travis
Corporate Member
I would use a router with a I guess hinge mortising bit or something wide cut with a flat bottom that has a guide bearing at the top so that your bearing can ride against the template you have to cut. Once routed you can square up the corners with a chisel.

mosaic

New User
David
Thanks Travis. I don't know what a I guess mortising bit is. Is there a picture of theis bit anywhere on the web? I've checked out a few informational sites on wordworking. Do I use a plugger router with a template?

David

Steve D

Steve DeWeese