Router table safety

Status
Not open for further replies.

PeteQuad

New User
Peter
Hi guys. I am pretty new to this stuff and still learning a lot of lessons. Today I was doing some flush trimming on my benchtop router table. I have some 1/4" ply templates and some cheap pine roughly cut to shape with a jigsaw.

I've done this before, but haven't gotten the technique and safety rules down I think. The reason I say this is that I got some nasty router kickback that pushed the wood quite hard back into my hand. It's not bad, just scraped barely enough to draw blood, but enough to make me stop and think what I need to be doing to make this safer. Also, I ruined 2 pieces of wood (it's ok, it was cheap stuff).

Are there some push sticks or hold downs someone can recommend? Also, what's the best way to go about this? The problem seems to occur when I start trimming into the grain - it will begin to chip out the wood and push back at me.

Thanks for any comments.

Ken Massingale

New User
Ken
How much material did you leave to be trimmed, Pete? I shoot for no more than 1/8". Routing against the grain is called climb cutting and can have a pucker factor on a table mounted router. Are the pieces large enough to use the pattern bit in a hand held router?
Instead of repeating excellent information check Tom's information at http://www.newwoodworker.com/clmbcuttng.html

ken

Last edited:

Bas

Recovering tool addict
Bas
Corporate Member
What Ken said. Taking off a little bit of material at a time is key.