Replace shower

Status
Not open for further replies.

Warren

Warren
Corporate Member
Not sure if this is the correct place to post this, but..... :dontknow:
My shower has developed serious leaks and has soaked the sub floor. I would guess that whoever installed it did not use the latex liner that nust be used on the floor. It looks as if I need to rip it out to the studs and replace it. I'm not sure what to replace it with: pre-fab or something like corian. I'm tired of trying to keep the joints caulked or re-grouted.
Can anyone recommmend someone they have used for bath projects that have experience and skills to solve this kind of problem.

gritz

New User
Robert
There is an active NARI chapter near you. Try those members. I'm a retired contractor and when I had one to do, I had a custom shower base poured in "granite" by a faux marble company. After setting that I installed tile walls over sealed and waterproofed cement board. The tile laps over the lip of the base and I caulked the intersection in a way it can't be seen. We love the look, cleanliness, and functionality. First cost is somewhat higher, but it never has to be re-done except for aesthetics.

You can also do this one yourself.

gritz

New User
Robert
Hopefully the picture will be attached now.
DSCN0672.JPG

View image in gallery

DSCN0672.JPG

View image in gallery

mkepke

Mark
Senior User
Robert - that looks like a one-piece base (?) so no PVC membrane would have been installed under it.

You need to find where the water is coming from..could be as simple as a failing seal around the drain.

That looks like an expensive shower..I would be loathe to tear it out w/o understanding the source of the problem.

-Mark

gritz

New User
Robert
The pic was to show how to do the shower repair with a cast base. Confusing some, but helping others, I hope.

JimD

Jim
Senior User