Red 2 x 4 framing lumber

Status
Not open for further replies.

tom.corbitt

New User
Tom
I'll start off by stating that I'm very much a novice to woodworking. I'm a decent metal machinist, just finally getting around to working with less predictable materials.

So I'm at a big box store in Raleigh on Saturday and on one of the end isles in the wood section they have a stack of "normal" 2 x 4 lumber and behind it is a second pile of dark red 2 x 4 lumber. Most of the lumber is solid red, though some boards have a clear red/white wood boundary showing.

The lumber had the typical SPF marking, so I looked online and found information that stated the heartwood of yellow pine can red.

Is this what it is? Any significant difference between this and the "white" version?

Mostly for monetary reasons I've been practicing and experimenting with framing lumber and I really like the red color, so I wanted to know more about it. I was thinking about making some simple bookshelves with it. I've done zero wood staining yet, but I'm very interested in advice on products that would help me keep (and help accentuate) the red coloring.

I understand the differences between framing lumber and other/better grades of lumber with respect to moisture levels, it's just cheap to play with.

Thanks in advance,
Tom

I bought some similar to that a few months ago and the dude at the store said it was harder wood pine from south america that that is all the dude told me I bought it because it was straight and clear

mkepke

Mark
Senior User
I know of several domestic softwoods that exhibit a reddish heartwood including Douglas fir (the "F" in SPF) and arguably lodgepole-, ponderosa- and SYP.

One would need to do a 'hands-on' inspection to know which species you are seeing. As someone else said, it might even be a foreign species.