Prototype Designer Looking for Feedback

chris_goris

Chris
Senior User
While the invention is neat its no domino. As a domino 700 owner, I will say the first big problem I see is repeatability. That is stringing them along the edge of a door stile for instance. The domino has an overwidth setting for this. It allows the cutter to make a larger than domino hole giving it compliance. Second is dust control. It has none (yes I know this is a prototype but as an engineer, I dont see a good way to accomplish that. I do see it being used to do line boring however.

Last edited:

Gotcha6

Dennis
Staff member
Corporate Member
You may also consider the cost to the purchaser to replace the two left hand spur point bits when they get dull. Not a common BORG item......

cyclopentadiene

Update your profile with your name
User
Other issues
This appears require a really wide piece because the gears take up a lot of space. The Domino can be used on a very narrow piece.

I do a fair number of dowel fits and unfortunately the dowels are typically not a uniform size. I typically have to sand a dowel smaller for dry fitting so it does not get stuck and require redrilling. Upon final glue up i drive the dowel through a dowel former to get a snug fit. Dominos are perfect. I can dry fit them, remove them and use the same one for glue up

At a cost of $400 and you provide the drill, the overall cost is $500 -$700 all in compared to a Domino at $1100. Not that significant for what you get

I would buy an upgrade for my Domino that uses imperial units, not metric and a gear driven adjustment versus the plastic slide bar or a randim guess for the domino. Digital precision with readout would be phenomenal. I could see wixey depth and angle technology built in for a precision domino upgrade

LB75

George