Propane Torch Keeps Going Out

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jeremy Scuteri

Jeremy
I was playing around with an epoxy project and one technique that I was trying for the 1st time is using a propane torch to pop any air bubbles. To torch something on a flat surface, I have to aim the flame downward, this seems to be causing the issue. For some reason the torch keeps "flaring up" and then going out. I thought it might be defective and bought another one (different brand) and I am experiencing the same issue. It makes me think that the issue is me, but I am still confused.

I worked in a restaurant all through high school and made hundreds and hundreds (maybe over a thousand) of creme brulees which used a torch to carmelize some sugar before serving. Never once did I experience this issue. Not a single time. The torch is inverted so the flame can point down in this operation as well.

Anyone have any advice?

sawman101

Bruce Swanson
Corporate Member
The flare up and flame going out happens when the liquid propane in the cylinder covers the hole in the top of the cylinder; it will flame out as it is no longer allowing gas to pass through. A torch with a greater length and bend in the neck would help. Hope this helps Jeremy.

frankc4113

Frank C
Corporate Member
Home Depot and Lowes sell a flexible hose that attaches to the propane bottle. Makes the whole thing easier to use.

ehpoole

Administrator
Ethan
You both nailed the issue and solution on the head. I love it when I click on a thread and see someone’s problem answered so quickly!

jlwest

Jeff
Corporate Member
Be careful using the torch on the epoxy. A heat gun or good hair dryer won't cause the epoxy to burn as easily.

Jeremy Scuteri

Jeremy
I was playing with some tinted pigments which create some pretty cool effects as you stir them in. The hair dryer moved so much air (that would slosh the epoxy around) that it would make it very hard to control what things looked like.

Jeremy Scuteri

Jeremy