Status
Not open for further replies.

TENdriver

New User
TENdriver
Okay, somewhere along the way I got it into my head that I wanted one of these knives:

https://www.ncwoodworker.net/forums/showthread.php?t=51246&highlight=Sellers+knife

I ended with it’s American (Stanley 10-049) cousin.

attachment.php

So, now I have a few years experience with these knives and they’re great!

I ‘ve ended up with several of them. They are excellent as marking knives for hand tool work and they’ re really useful as utility knives. I’ve even carried one as a pocket knife. Great kitchen drawer knife etc.

The blades are decent steel that take and hold a good edge. I tend to touch up the blade edge and keep them surgically sharp. Because the blade is disposable, I don’t worry about rough use that might nick an edge. So far, I haven’t needed to replace a blade. I’ve been able to resharpen, and put them right back to work.

The first couple of knives were purchased as Amazon Smile add ons in order to reach a shipping minimum. Since then, I’ve paid a little more, but these knives are handy to have around and they are worth it.

Attachments

• A4F8BA20-D14B-4A94-8EF6-A119DAC91DFB.jpg
    A4F8BA20-D14B-4A94-8EF6-A119DAC91DFB.jpg
    486.6 KB · Views: 470

TENdriver

New User
TENdriver
I have one but haven't used it. How do you sharpen it?

Mike,

I ‘m either not disciplined or good enough to consistently use the same sharpening method on my edged tools.

Sometimes I use my dad’s (the man was an absolute sharpening genius) oil stones, my various ceramic stones, water stones, occasionally various diamond stones, and even metal workers crocus cloth or various polishing compounds on leather, card stock or hardwood blocks.