Padauk

Status
Not open for further replies.

Larry Rose

New User
Larry Rose
:eusa_thin Has any one used any padauk? I've got about 10 bf of it. I'm thinking of using it as some type of table top. What other woods would look good with it and what kind of finish to use? This stuff is too expensive to experiment with.

Toddler

New User
Todd
Hey Larry,

I'm a total beginner, but am currently laminating Padauk and other woods to make some thru the body guitar neck blanks. The first completed one is in my guest room as the epoxy cures.

It is pretty stuff. I have learned that there are several types of Paduak and that Andaman or Burmese Paduak may not fade to brown as much as others. I have no clue what type I have, but wanted it for strength and dimensional stability more than looks. I can say that acetone wipes sure turn the cloth Red when wiping mine down before gluing!

Glad you posted this. It'll be nice to hear what feedback you get.

Todd

Last edited by a moderator:

MikeH

New User
Mike
I'm a total beginner, but am currently laminating Padauk and other woods to make some thru the body guitar neck blanks. The first completed one is in my guest room as the epoxy cures.Todd

Larry or Todd, do you have any pics of the wood?

Last edited by a moderator:

Sweetgum

New User
Brad Keisler
When sanding Padauk with a lighter wood, say maple, you will most probably experience "bleeding" of the Padauk color onto the lighter wood...at least that's been my experience.

Larry Rose

New User
Larry Rose
Mike, I haven't learned to post pictures yet. Padauk is very red when freshly planed and browns up a little as it ages. It's very striking, but I can see that it will have to be used with the right complementary wood.

Toddler

New User
Todd
I laminated it to Bubinga. I wonder if it will actually manage to bleed color into the Bubinga. That'd be pretty amazing. I couldn't get the bubinga to wet down even with acetone right after sanding with 60 grit.
Todd

PurpleThumb

New User