Outdoor finish

Bugle

Preston
Corporate Member
My son is building a grill cart for his Weber grill from pallet wood. We are going to plane it down and finish it. He is going to keep it outside and covered, but would still like to seal the wood. My question is what finish would you recommend...Waterlox, Epifanes, some other oil based finish?

Something similar to this:

Thanks in advance.

Jeff

New User
Jeff
Epifanes varnish is a good choice. Waterlox Marine finish is a possibility but I have no experience with it.

Ted P

Ted
Corporate Member
I recently refinished our front door that gets lots of sun exposure. If the cart is covered, UV protection may not be as important to you as it was to me. The folks at Klingspor's recommended General Finishes Exterior 450. That goes against my preconceived notions that only oil based finish is appropriate for outdoors, but they insisted. Too early to tell if they are right based on my application, but that product was recommended to me. Certainly is easy to use.

Bugle

Preston
Corporate Member
Planed a couple boards. Turns out it is red oak...not the best choice for outdoor use as it will easily turn black if it gets wet. It is going to be covered, but moisture will still get to it I think. Anyone have experience with Sikkens Pro Luxe Cetol or Penofin?

BKHam

Bradley
User
nothing holds in the sun and rain. thats my experience at least. my last few outdoor projects....i've chosen a wood with some outdoor characteristics like white oak and mahogany. on those projects, i went with a few coats of outdoor oil to give it a finished look. i didnt build up a film so these will just turn grey over time and i'm fine with it. i can always oil them again. but by choosing the right species, it has a better chance of surviving the years. Also, by not choosing a film finish, i'm never going to have flaking or need to fully strip and refinish.