Opinions needed on Footprint Chisels

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mark Gottesman

New User
Mark
I am looking into possibly buying a set of Footprint chisels from Sears for use as a starter set. The price is right, $ 6.00 per chisel.

I know nothing about them and can find precious little in the way of online reviews. I know it used to be a good brand name, but with Sears "Good-Better-Best" lines and the way namebrands are being bought up and repackaged, It seemed best to ask around. I am not sure if all the blue poly handle Footprints are the same steel and Heat treatment.

it is Sears:
Footprint Tools 9 pc. Chisel Set with Tool Roll

Sears item# 00936831000 Mfr. model# 36831

As I said, these would be for a basic shop starter set for all around use. I am just a beginner. Right now I have a mongrel set that I have assembled over the years, mainly Stanley #60's and I need a few more sizes.

Mainly I was wondering how the Poly handles would feel and hold up and how edge holding quality of the steel. Not much actual information out there. They seem to be a shorter chisel, which is something I am comfortable with.

Any and all opinions about any aspects of these tools would be appreciated and useful.

Thanks
Mark

RayH

New User
Ray
For years I was a Craftsman guy:icon_chee. However, I have been disappointed the past few years with the overall quality of Sears' products. Don't know if it was their association with Land's End or with K-Mart, but something happened. As to the chisels, I can only note that the 9-tool set is not something that I can find on Footprint's web site. I have found other things in Sears that are manufactured by others, but the specifications laid out by Sears.:eusa_thin

JMTCW, but good luck.

PeteM

Pete
Corporate Member
The current FWW has a review of 23 different chisels.
Narex was given besst buy status at about $6.
Just google and you'll find them.
Irwin/Marples are also good and easier to find.

pete

DaveO

New User
DaveO