Of Amazon and a Powermatic 31A combo belt/disk sander

Status
Not open for further replies.

SteveColes

Steve
Corporate Member
For a variety of reasons, I had decided on a Powermatic 31A Disk/Belt Sander and for a different set of reasons, I decided on trying to purchase it from Amazon. Yes their price was good $1099, but I was able match the price other places. In fact I was ready to pull the trigger at a place that I have some good experiences with, when ordering and having shipped floor standing power tools.

When I told Gail, she reminded me about the large number of $25 amazon coupons I had amassed from my holiday shopping. Using those would really lower the cost my actual cost.

I was leery about Amazon shipping to me by truck and how long would it take. I ordered online on Wed the 26th, On Thurs, a local trucking company which serves as a drop off/local delivery depot called to say that ABP Trucking had just notified them that a shipment for me was to be dropped off on Friday the 28 in the morning. Would I like it Fri afternoon or Monday morning. I choose Friday.

And it was in my garage at 4:00.:elvis::swoon::elvis::swoon:. No fuss, no muss. The driver unloaded and using his palette jack, rolled it into my garage. And if you look you can see that there is not one ding in the boxes and opening them later confirmed that there was absolutely no damage.
:eusa_danc:eusa_danc:eusa_danc:eusa_danc:eusa_danc

IMG_2669.jpg

View image in gallery

So for 2 day truck delivery with lift gate service, how much did I pay? $0.00:gar-Bi:gar-Bi:gar-Bi
I'm impressed.

FredP

Fred
Corporate Member
there is only one problem with this Steve..... it wasn't delivered HERE!:rotflm: Nice score big fella. now git it dirty!:gar-Bi

MikeL

Michael
Corporate Member
Congrats on the addition Steve! I had always wondered how large purchases on Amazon were shipped. I am glad it was stress free for you. Enjoy.

Skymaster

New User
Jack