Nova chuck references/howtos/tutorials?

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnpipe108

New User
John Meshkoff
I have recently returned to my English Northumbrian bagpipes project, about a year and a half after making the smallest drone:

Northumbrian_pipe_1-dscf1316.jpg

Today I went out to Woodcraft and purchased a Nova Precision Midi woodturning chuck, and I've never worked with this type chuck before. As may be seen in the photo above, I'm turning small, cylinder-bored parts. I will be cutting the blanks in the background for the mid-size two-part drone (the smaller and larger drones are the 4 pieces in the foreground), and a common stock for the three drones; the bulky piece of cocobolo is for the stock, and it will be hollowed out inside as is commonly done for this class of bagpipe.

I will need to end-bore the drone blanks on the lathe, either in the square or after turning to cylinder. Once bored, turning is virtually the same as pen-turning. I will also be doing the same with a 1-inch square x 7-inch piece of African Blackwood for the pipe chanter.

I would be looking for info on the best way (ways?) of chucking the pieces for end-boring, either square or round, and if needed will support the outer end with my home-made center rest. The drone blanks will be 3/4-inch square x 5-inches long.

The Nova chuck comes with two sets of jaws, the smaller (25mm minimum diameter)has an internal radius of about 0.200-inch, and the larger (50mm) being about 0.850-inch internal radius. The larger would be used to grip the 1-3/8-inch OD on the stock for hollowing after turning to form (cylindrical at the ferrule, with a slight outward taper to the other end), which hopefully will be reasonably straightforward, so the main questions would seem to be on holding the drone and chanter pieces.

Any tips or references on useage of such chucks for my purposes will be appreciated.

Thank you, John

nelsone

New User
Ed