newbe woodchuck

Status
Not open for further replies.

theartfullturner

New User
John
I have enjoyed finding this web site and joining as a new member. I am very intrested in woodturning, carving, woodworking, and gaining knowledge and information from all of you 'pros' out there. I am active with the Charlotte woodturning club and have served as Treasure and now the VP. I love teaching and promoting woodturning and hope someday to prefect my turnings and skills for the enjoyment of others as well as myself. I would love to turn for a living [travel expenses] and travel with my wife and 2 pups when I retire. My real profession is landscaping so I have an unlimited source of wood [who wants more?] and I was tired of seeing it go to waste. Now, I am a professed wood addict. My drug is turning and meeting others who are interested in sharing knowlege and teaching others the joys of woodworking. The biggest challenge is creating something special and figuring out what the wood will give you. I am experimenting with differant forms and finishes. I am open for a 'big fix' for my addiction in this so send me advice and or any comments that you may have. I would enjoy taking turning to the next level and meeting the other woodchucks in this world.

May your wood be true,

John

John

SteveColes

Steve
Corporate Member
Welcome to the site, we can always use another turner here. Sorry about the belated posting, but I explained what happened in a PM to you.

BTW, I sure sure DaveO will be chiming in shortly, since he also a Landscape designer and seems to have fixation on answering every post:rolf:

chris99z71

New User
Chris
Welcome John! I'd be careful spouting phrases like "unlimited wood" around here, you may have to start sharing!

I've never used a lathe before and I'm beginning to fear it based on all of the reports of addiction...
Looking forward to seeing some pictures of your work.
-Chris

DaveO

New User
DaveO