New to the forum, new to me bandsaw thanks to RoyG

Status
Not open for further replies.

Phillip Mitchell

Phillip
User
Hi folks,

I thought I'd introduce myself and tell a happy woodworking story. I joined this forum a year or so back, but didn't become active posting for numerous reasons. I'm fairly active on another woodworking forum and just hadn't made it over to this site frequently enough to commit time to engaging much.

I'm a timber frame carpenter by trade. Plenty of general and finish carpentry in the mix as well. I end up doing a healthy amount of custom woodworking at work as well (from large, architectural type woodworking to furniture and lots of stuff in between.) Despite working full time in a shop with a full compliment of woodworking tools and having access to whatever I want or need, somehow I have the woodworking bug bad enough that apparently that's not enough to satiate my needs...:D

Over the last 4 years I've slowly been building out a small wood shop in my basement to work on my own personal projects and to take on small side jobs that sometimes arise outside my main employer. Despite having access to 4 different bandsaws at work, I've been dreaming of owning my own bandsaw in my home shop for a couple years now and finally was able to come much closer to that goal yesterday.

After countless months of searching via word of mouth, Craigslist, IRS auctions, GovDeals, etc and even considering spending way too much money on a new saw, I posted a wanted ad on the classifieds here about a month back looking for a used Italian bandsaw within a certain criteria range. Within a couple days, fellow forum member RoyG emailed me, offering to sell a saw of his for a very reasonable price. It took me some weeks and many detailed emails back and forth to be able to make the trip down to the Raleigh area to check the saw out. Needless to say it ended up following me home.