New Planer

Status
Not open for further replies.

TominZebulon

New User
Tom Meehan
I am looking to buy a benchtop planer in the next couple weeks and am interested to hear from you folks any ideas on the different makes. Which ones do you guys own and/or have used and what are the pros and cons of them. I am willing to pay for quality, but I really wonder if the extra money makes that much of a difference. I am looking for one that gets my stock to the thickness I need, not necessarily looking for a sandless finish. As a matter of fact, I am interested in getting it to within 1/16 or 3/32 and finishing it up with handplanes. I would do it all by hand because usually I have all the time in the world since I am just a hobbyist, but I need to finish a rather large project by Christmas for my mother and just do not have the time to handplane it all. And I really don't know woodworkers in the Raleigh area well enough to borrow or use their equipment. I know, rather longwinded, but just found this forum and I am excited that we have something like this.

Tom

Phillip

New User
Phillip Fuentes
hi, i use a ryobi ap10, its over 20 yrs old and a workhorse. but as soon as i get my own shop space (soon now i think) i'll be getting the makita 12", i know a couple of people who have them. they're really quiet for benchtop machinery and the quick change cutterhead makes the sale for me. its not the cheapest machine out there but the low noise level and quick change knives are worth it. $449 at woodcraft right now, and a free RO sander if you buy before the end of the month.

phillip

DaveO

New User
DaveO